Saying Goodbye

I remember it like it was yesterday: watching that little seed sprout two frail leaves. I watched that little plant every day. I never felt so immersed in the natural world. I felt as thought I was rooted in the soil as much as my plant.

After harvesting my first round of spinach, I knew organic farming was the career for me. That is why in a month I will leave my full time job to apprentice on an organic farm in Hawaii.

I want to provide a “from scratch” perspective on how to make a career in organic farming. I hope to connect with a community of passionate agriculturists, gardeners, and climatarians to address a better business model for our food system.

After I hatched this plan to move to Hawaii, I somehow convinced my boyfriend, Chris, to move with me. Chris and I met rock climbing. He noticed that I was struggling with technique, so we exchanged numbers. He thought my yoga pants were cute and I wanted free climbing lessons.

Here we are a year later! About to embark on the greatest adventure of our lives.

As the weeks dwindle down, the goodbyes are inevitable.

…until next time.

 

 

About emma_donachie

Are you interested in becoming a farmer, but have no idea where to start? #Same Welcome to a novice’s adventure in organic farming. This blog will be a “from scratch” perspective on how to make a career in organic farming. In March, I will leave my life in Dallas, TX to venture to the Big Island of Hawaii to apprentice on an organic farm. I hope to connect with a community of passionate agriculturists, gardeners, and climatarians to address a better business model for our food system. Please contact me if you would like to connect! Together we can make a healthier planet.

Leave a Reply

